How do I share a library?
Users in our Edu Pro plans can share their libraries with other Scrible users to collaborate on research.
To share a library with others, click on the gear icon () that appears to the far right of the library name and then click the Collaborators tab. Here you can click the Add Collaborators button and enter the email address of the people you want to share it with. You can also set the permissions they'll have to this library. The permission meanings are detailed below.
Teachers have a dropdown Add Collaborators button which gives them the choice to add individuals by email, or add whole sections of their classes in Scrible at a time.
Individual permission meanings:
- If no permissions are granted, but the user listed as a collaborator, they have read-only access to the library
- The Create permission allows users to save new sources into the library. For any sources they save into the library, they can annotate those and move them to another library regardless of the other permission settings.
- The Modify permission allows users to annotate any source in the library. It also allows them to make changes to the Bibliography, Outline, and Tags.
- The Copy permission allows users to copy sources from this library to another library
- The Delete permission allows users to remove sources from this library (Note that moving requires both Copy and Delete)
Libraries also have a "Public access to Library" setting. This isn't for the public to see the library directly, but rather what happens when the URL of a source in this library is shared with someone else.
- Private - only users listed as collaborators can view sources from this library. So if the URL is shared with someone else, they won't be able to see it until they're added as a collaborator.
- Public/Read-only - anyone with the URL for a source can view that source
- Public/Choose per source - anyone with the URL for a source can view it. In the Sources tab of the library, each source will have a locked or unlocked icon ( / ) in the drawer that appears along the right end when you hover over that source. This determines if another Scrible user who is not a collaborator on the library but has been shared the URL of a source in this library can change annotations on the source. Clicking the lock/unlock icon will toggle this setting.
- Public/Anyone can modify - Anyone who has the URL for a source in this library shared with them can modify annotations on it.